The Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service is dependent upon the broad-based participation of local citizens.  The involvement is accomplished through the Extension advisory council system.  The Extension Council is an organized body of volunteer leaders that counsels with Extension agents in the identification of local problems and issues, assists in program implementation, participates in determining program success, and communicates program accomplishments and funding needs to decision makers.

2009 Letcher County District Board Members:

Dock Frazier, Chairperson

H. Stanfill, Vice President

Kathy Napier, Secretary

Dennis W. Fleming, Treasurer

Diane Watts, Member

Ruth Shackleford, Member

Truman Halcomb, Member

Jim Ward, County Judge Executive